Audio and Subtitle Confirmation Pop UP Menu!

Blu-ray and UHD Authoring
Post Reply
DJBrunoLima
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2022 9:53 pm

Audio and Subtitle Confirmation Pop UP Menu!

Post by DJBrunoLima »

Hello Alexey!

How are you?

Could you please help me with a question in my project?

So, I have a Pop UP menu with Audio and Subtitle Confirmation, which appears on the screen when we choose an audio or subtitle. This is a Warner standard on some of their official Blu-rays. The command works correctly when I choose an audio or subtitle on the main menu and press play to start the movie, and the confirmation Pop UP appears on the screen correctly. I would like you to help me when I start the movie with the established audio and subtitle standard. I want the movie to start without the Pop UP appearing. I only want it to appear when I want to change the audio or subtitle choices. Could you please help me with a script command?

Here is the link to a screenshot I made of my project rendered and played in VLC for testing. You can see that at the beginning I play the movie without choosing a language and even then the Language Confirmation Pop-Up appears. However, during the test where I choose an audio and a subtitle, the change happens correctly. However, I would like the movie to start without the Audio and Subtitle Confirmation Pop-Up appearing when I press play. Is it possible to do this in BDS?

Thanks in advance, Alexey!


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1lzXwG2 ... sp=sharing

Alexey Kolesnikov
Posts: 458
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 1:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio and Subtitle Confirmation Pop UP Menu!

Post by Alexey Kolesnikov »

Hello,

If I understand you right: the issue is that confirmation always visible, right?

If you want confirmation dialog be visible only when user changes settings - just set a flag in some GPR and check this GPR before showing this dialog. Don't forget to clear GPR afterwards.
Best regards,
Alexey Kolesnikov

DJBrunoLima
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2022 9:53 pm

Re: Audio and Subtitle Confirmation Pop UP Menu!

Post by DJBrunoLima »

Alexey Kolesnikov wrote:
Tue Sep 03, 2024 7:36 pm
Hello,

If I understand you right: the issue is that confirmation always visible, right?

If you want confirmation dialog be visible only when user changes settings - just set a flag in some GPR and check this GPR before showing this dialog. Don't forget to clear GPR afterwards.
Do you have any examples of where I should start?

Alexey Kolesnikov
Posts: 458
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 1:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio and Subtitle Confirmation Pop UP Menu!

Post by Alexey Kolesnikov »

Well... If you have something working already - you already started :)
To use scripts you should learn Java basics at least. But this particular case is not about Java - all of these things are available without it.
You can set GPR in "Settings and properties" -> "Set GPR/parameter" action use GPR in Custom SWITCH condition.
Best regards,
Alexey Kolesnikov

DJBrunoLima
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2022 9:53 pm

Re: Audio and Subtitle Confirmation Pop UP Menu!

Post by DJBrunoLima »

Alexey Kolesnikov wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2024 5:32 am
Well... If you have something working already - you already started :)
To use scripts you should learn Java basics at least. But this particular case is not about Java - all of these things are available without it.
You can set GPR in "Settings and properties" -> "Set GPR/parameter" action use GPR in Custom SWITCH condition.
Thanks for your help Alexey, but I've already managed to put gpr into practice and everything works as expected. One more question, is there a possibility of forcing subtitles with the same language audio in BDS? Possible that they use some gpr command to force a subtitle with the same audio language? I noticed that some commercial Blu-rays generate a bin file within the folder, with activation codes for menu buttons in Java, even for forced subtitles, this would be perfect if there was this feature in BDS. Thanks in advance!

Alexey Kolesnikov
Posts: 458
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 1:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio and Subtitle Confirmation Pop UP Menu!

Post by Alexey Kolesnikov »

You can do it manually.

Check PSR section in the help - it says where and how audio/subtitles/menu preferred language is stored. For example for audio this is PSR 16 and for French this is 0x667261.

To change subtitles from Java you can use selectSubtitleStream('Movie', 4, false, false)
where:
- Movie is your movie name
- 4 - subtitle track number (as an example)
- first false - change for the current playlist
- second false - turn subtitles on. Should be false if you need forced subtitles only
Best regards,
Alexey Kolesnikov

DJBrunoLima
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2022 9:53 pm

Re: Audio and Subtitle Confirmation Pop UP Menu!

Post by DJBrunoLima »

Alexey Kolesnikov wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2024 7:26 am
You can do it manually.

Check PSR section in the help - it says where and how audio/subtitles/menu preferred language is stored. For example for audio this is PSR 16 and for French this is 0x667261.

To change subtitles from Java you can use selectSubtitleStream('Movie', 4, false, false)
where:
- Movie is your movie name
- 4 - subtitle track number (as an example)
- first false - change for the current playlist
- second false - turn subtitles on. Should be false if you need forced subtitles only
Hello Alexey!

This Java command you provided, would it be for subtitles with forced signaling within the complete one or would it be for separate forced subtitles?

I only use separate forced subtitles, hence my question.

Alexey Kolesnikov
Posts: 458
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 1:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio and Subtitle Confirmation Pop UP Menu!

Post by Alexey Kolesnikov »

For the separate forced subtitles you can use 'true' instead of 'false' in the last parameter.
Best regards,
Alexey Kolesnikov

DJBrunoLima
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2022 9:53 pm

Re: Audio and Subtitle Confirmation Pop UP Menu!

Post by DJBrunoLima »

Alexey Kolesnikov wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2024 5:40 am
For the separate forced subtitles you can use 'true' instead of 'false' in the last parameter.
Thanks Alexey, but I couldn't make it work, my forced subtitles are tracks 6 and 7 and I put the script and the forced tracks were not selected.
Here is a print to see if I'm doing it correctly.


https://prnt.sc/DkTOwwg0jGzr

Alexey Kolesnikov
Posts: 458
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 1:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio and Subtitle Confirmation Pop UP Menu!

Post by Alexey Kolesnikov »

well... in that case you can use a simple select subtitle action - you do not need Java.
Best regards,
Alexey Kolesnikov

Post Reply